Our first "official" pic

I remember meeting The Parents. It was coincidentally our second date b/c we both lived at home with our parents, we had no choice.

(I was able to hold E off a little longer from meeting my parents b/c I always offered to drive out to his house LOL)

I was still in uniform b/c I had a VERY long day at work so here I am, trudging in with my uniform, my combat boots, no makeup, godawful hair, and a bright pink gym bag with clothes to change into. If he didn’t run away screaming, I knew we were meant to be.

I walk in the front door and his mother runs to hug me, as though we were old friends. It was surprising but a fantastic welcoming. His dad saluted me. I giggled. It was, by far, the most non-awkward, easy-going “nice to meet you” I’ve ever experienced.

Then came the photo ops.

After sitting down, talking with his parents for a while, we finally managed to get a picture of the two of us where we weren’t trying to kill each other and he wasn’t making funny faces.

Believe me, it was tough.

Right before I left for Hawaii, for work, I made E be my +1 for a Bull Roast Benefit. It was the first time he was meeting the extended family and by extended, I mean, my bio-father and some of my sister’s in-laws. I think he was slightly overwhelmed by the welcoming, which included (but are is not limited too) having his head grabbed, being danced with by my sister’s mother in law, and being made to wear some tacky mardi-gras-esque mask that was left over from an ill-fated bachelorette party.

He took it like a champ.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

