Weight Loss and the Bullying that Goes With It

This link has pretty much gone viral of FB:

http://www.upworthy.com/bully-calls-news-anchor-fat-news-anchor-destroys-him-on-live-tv

To this woman, I say KUDOS! And another BRAVO goes to her station for giving her the time to air this story. This is a very real story and a very real issue.

To me, one email does not constitue bullying. Simply telling someone “you’ve let yourself go and I’m surprised you’re on TV” doesn’t = bullying in my mind. However, I have it on good faith that there was more than just this email and there was an entire chain of emails from this douchecanoe calling this newsanchor fat.

“Surely you don’t consider yourself a suitable example for this community, girls in particular”

“I leave you this note hoping that you’ll reconsider your responsbility as a local personality to present and promote a healthy lifestyle”

Now, no offense to public personalities, but I sure as shit don’t hold you accountable for being a role model for anyone. This woman’s job is simply to report what happened during the day to keep the rest of her area informed. She isn’t a trainer on the Biggest.Loser, she isn’t promoting Jenny.Craig or WW, she’s not presenting herself as a nutritionist. She reports on the news. She’s telling us about the ongoing war, car accidents, and the weather.

No one, and I mean no one, can sit there and say she is a shitty person for being fat because people see her. I see obese people at McDonalds. I don’t walk up and blast them and say “my daughter can see you and you’re teaching her to eat like shit and get fat” because IT’S NOT THEIR JOB TO TEACH ANYONE but themselves and their own children (if they have them).

The bullying revolving around weight and weight loss never ceases to amaze me and piss me the fuck off at the same time.

I admit, I watch this shit. I watch the Real.Housewives.of.Whatever-the-hell-state/city-they-put-on. I wasn’t terribly excited about DC or Miami but Jersey and Atlanta — ♥♥♥ it!

Until now.

Anyone that watches knows that Teresa is batshit crazy. She is in denial and quite possibly the worst woman to represent a state on a television show. If I were from Jersey, I’d be picketing to get her kicked off the show. Much like that trashtastic chick, Danielle.

In watching the Reunion Special (Part I), she thought it was completely ok to attack other’s looks. Mind you, this chick has 4 young girls at home. 4 young and impressionable girls. I pray to whoever is holy that they have never seen their mother act like this. She not only went after Caroline Manzo’s kids and their employment history but also Caroline’s looks (the pic shown above). This is not the first time she has done this. Heaven forbid Teresa’s daughters have seen this type of behavior and they go to school, pick someone out of the crowd and tell them: You have three rolls. Blubber, Blubber, and BLUBBER. How mortified do you think their mother would be? (well, judging by Teresa’s most recent antics, she’d try and turn it around to be the bullied person’s fault because that’s her MO)

I digress (and believe me, with Teresa, I could do it all day long) but THIS is the type of shit that irritates me to no end. There is no need to use that as an argument against someone because when you do this, you not only become a bully but you also attempt to define a person and no one has the right to define anyone based on their own opinions.

You all probably remember this story in Marie Claire from a few years ago

http://www.marieclaire.com/sex-love/dating-blog/overweight-couples-on-television

where a “writer” went on and on about the primetime show “Mike and Molly”. Someone posed the question “Should Fatties Get A Room (Even On TV)”. This “writer” responds like this:

…Yes, I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other… because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything. To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room — just like I’d find it distressing if I saw a very drunk person stumbling across a bar or a heroine addict slumping in a chair

Right. Because an overweight person is clearly the same, if not worse off then a stumbling drunk or a drug addict that has nodded out. They are totally the same thing! This very article was the nail in the coffin that contained the days of me reading Marie Claire. To my knowledge, this “writer” has rescinded this story and apologized but we all know it was for the press.

Honestly, I don’t get it. I’ve been that taunted girl. I was called a fat ass in retaliation for telling someone they were being mature in the way they handled a situation. Really? Thank you for further proving my point.

Engaging in an argument/confrontation with someone simply because you’re trying to prove a point is one thing. Kicking them in the balls is something different, completely. People, children and teenagers especially, kill themselves every day over comments like what’s in this post. Being told you’re gross because you’re overweight or being told you have blubber or hearing that you’re ugly. Any time you point out a difference of someone else in an effort to make yourself feel better, you’re really making yourself look like an incredibly large asshole.

I’d like to find the start of this madness when society decided to start determining someone’s worth based on their size/body frame. As I’ve said before, don’t let anyone else try and define you.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

