The Scale – Week 5

Total loss this week: -0.9

Total loss overall: 11.9 lbs

I’m happy. I’m seeing progress both in my running and with my appearance. When I got some post-preg jeans, I got one pair that was 3 sizes bigger than what I was wearing pre-preg. Those are packed away. The pairs that I got that are two sizes bigger than my pre-preg size are now starting to get ridiculously big in the waist so now I need to find the time (and money) to go get another pair in a smaller size. I doubt I’ll ever fit back into the size I was pre-preg even though I’m really only one size larger. My hips and bum have umm… changed. LOL

 Went for a run with work this morning and I can’t say I’m terribly upset that I was made to do it.

I will say though, missing a workout on Wednesday and then missing another one yesterday due to a lingering migraine really sucks.

I did about 2.2 miles on the bike and then went for a 2.25mi run. I’m happy with the burn.

 

 

 

 

Since E has been  such long hours, I needed something to get into and Beanie has been needing an afternoon nap so I decided to attempt to bake some things that have been on my Baking Bucket List.

Up this go-round: Apple Cider Crumb Cake

You wouldn’t believe how difficult it was to find this type of recipe. It started out as Apple Cider Doughnuts. E loves these things and they actually taste like Apple, which I dig. So I came across this recipe and figured what the hell – let’s give it a whirl.

For the crumb topping:

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
12 tablespoons butter, melted, warm
2 2/3 cups cake flour

Mix all of this together and set aside. The original recipe said to let this cool while I prepared the cake batter. I’m not sure if I did it wrong but I never got anything more than mixed crumbles.

For the cake batter:

2 1/2 cups cake flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
12 tablespoons butter, softened
2 large eggs
2 large egg yolks
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/3 cup vanilla yogurt (feel free to substitute an equal amount of buttermilk or plain milk here)
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons apple cider

*I used whole milk instead of yogurt and I haven’t the slightest idea of where to find buttermilk

 

And finally, for the glaze

1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2-3 tablespoons apple cider, depending on how thick or thin you’d like your glaze
2 teaspoons applejack, apple schnapps or apple brandy (optional)

*I didn’t use the last ingredient because I didn’t have it in the house and I don’t like that type of liquor

Overall assessment from E: it tastes good.

Right.

My biggest beef with this is that it takes almost an entire box of cake flour and my stupid oven doesn’t heat correctly so even after baking it for 42 mins, the cake was dry for my liking (you’re supposed to bake it 50-60 mins).

It’s not bad though and I’d more than likely make it again.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

