Quotes

POTD Day # 30 – Quotes

I’m breaking the rules because I don’t have any pictures of these. And I’m warning you now, shit’s about to get deep in here.

I’m a huge fan of quotes. Inspirational ones, for the most most part.

America Ferrera said, at the end of the series “Ugly Betty”:

I’ve had to say goodbye more times than I have liked, but everyone can say that. And no matter how many times we have to do it — even if it’s for the greater good, it still stings. And though we’ll never forget what we’ve given up, we owe it to ourselves to keep moving forward. What we can’t do is live our lives always afraid of the next goodbye. Because chances are, they’re not going to stop. The trick is to recognize when a goodbye can be a good thing. When it’s a chance to start again”

This is one resonates with me. I was going through a particularly hard time with my divorce and I was lashing out at anyone and everyone. I wrote off someone who was a good friend to me. I thought it was the toxicity between us that drove me to cut her out but it was more about emotions. We recently reconnected and I think we’re both just getting to know one another again. I asked if our email conversation was going to be like an awkward first date. Thankfully, it wasn’t. I’ve already written off friends who I thought were friends but turned out, they were junk. I’ve also held on to friends that I’ve known all my life and I realize they are my true soul mates. (I’m looking at you, JNG and RLW!)

I’ve found out who my true, real friends are with my divorce. There were people who I considered friends but they turned out to be, very much, Team EXHusband. I don’t wish them ill-will. I don’t wish them harm. I wish them luck and maybe our paths will cross again some day. I think the same of my ex-husband. I don’t wish ill-will. I wish him nothing but the best. We didn’t work and not for lack of trying but we’re far better off now. At least I am.

Another quote that struck me was from “The New Normal”. If you haven’t seen that show (and aren’t all gross and homophobic), I highly recommend you catch an episode

Expectations are a funny thing. You waste so much time guessing what your life could look like but the thing is, you can’t really know until the day you open your eyes and see that, if you let go and lean into the unexpected, it may be something more beautiful than you ever could have imagined.

No, it’s not what you expected, it’s something even better

This quote came years late. I’m the person that wasted so much time worried about that my life could be instead of just living it. It took me having a daughter to realize what life really means. The simple things become the most fun. Playing with a plastic palace and matching Little People is far more fun than those of you out there, at bars, partying it up. To me, anyway. I’d rather teach my kid something new or watch her figure something out on her own. I can’t predict what tomorrow will bring for me or for E or for Beanie. I just hope that it means we’ll all still be together and happy.

2013 has started off as a tough year with this flu and some work issues (read: bullshit) but I’m determined to make it one of the best. Letting go of the negativity that surrounds people in every day life as been key for me. Sure, I still harbor some anger for some people in this world and I know it won’t go away but I refuse to let that consume me. To me, those people simply do not exist. If they want to exist in my world, an apology is where they need to start. Once that’s achieved, we’ll talk. E is the passive one of us. He’s the one that says “hell with it, I’m all good. Let’s be friends”. I’m the bitch. I’m the one that holds grudges. I fully admit and understand that. But I’m working on it 🙂

I leave you with this one song verse, sung by Jason Aldean

I use what I got
Take what I get
Until I ain’t got nothin’ left
Then I give it some more
Keep on climbing up that mountain
Keep truckin along, work up a sweat
Pass every no, after no, after no, till i get a yes
I don’t worry about what i’ve done
I use what I got

If you are a country fan, listen to some of these lyrics. They aren’t all just about your wife leaving, your dog dying, and your truck getting wrecked 🙂

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

