Mariner Mother’s Day 5K

First off – Happy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there!! I hope your day has been spectacular and I hope you get some type of rest and relaxation 🙂

Back in January, I said I wasn’t going to make any resolutions. I swore off of them because I never stick to them. Instead, I said I was going to make monthly resolutions consisting of things I could actually accomplish. In Feb, my SIL and I decided we were going to go back to Couch To 5K and attempt to complete it. I finally did it. I must have started this program three times (probably more) and I finally finished it. It definitely wasn’t in 8 weeks, I mean, it was all I could do to work FT, be a mom FT, be a wife FT, and take online classes but I managed.

Today, I ran my first 5K ever.

Mariner Mother's Day 5K

Mariner Mother’s Day 5K

This was, by far, my fastest time ever. Go figure, the only person I knew there (that was running, E and Beanie came to cheer me on) was the UPS man that delivers to my work. We didn’t run together but I’m pretty sure he beat me. Story of my life.

IMG_3866

My Cheerleader

My Cheerleader

The course was exactly what I thought it was. It wasn’t pretty but I finished. And I’m still alive, that’s a bonus. I survived and I’m already planning the next run. I think I can honestly call myself a runner now, even if I do get out ran by old men.

The rest of the day has been a lazy one but that’s a typical sunday for us. Although I did get an awesome card from Beanie

Mother's Day 2013

Mother’s Day 2013

 

She even got dressed up for me ;) because, you know, you can never have too many tutus on. At once. And shoes on the correct feet? Overrated!

She even got dressed up for me 😉 because, you know, you can never have too many tutus on. At once. And shoes on the correct feet? Overrated!

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Good job on your first 5km event. Watch out they’re addictive!

    Nice choice on using the MapMyRun app. I use it also here in Australia. Currently training for a 10km event in July that I have managed to wrangle the rest of the family into.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

