NaBloPoMo – Nov 3

There are things in this world that will wind me up and get me going. Fewer things that really tick me off but one thing that really grinds my gears, burns my biscuits, and chaps my ass: someone telling someone else how to parent their child.

Ultimately, the #1 reason that I will ever go to jail for assaulting someone will, in fact, be because someone told me how to parent Beanie. I’ll be the first to admit, I question my own parenting sometimes. There are times where I sit back and look at her and think “how in the holy hell have I kept this small human alive for TWO years?” Seriously. She’s already two years off and she’s thriving. We’ve had our ups and downs and times where we tried to unfriend each other in real life but we’ve managed. At the end of every night, she looks at me, gives me night time hugs, and blows kisses. She doesn’t care that I think I’m f**king it up. She doesn’t care that I’m worried about my weight or that I struggle with how to explain life to her or that I worry, constantly, what will happen when she’s older. She just knows I’m the person who gives her hugs and milk and yells occasionally. But only when she’s being an asshole, I promise.

So with that in mind, imagine my rage when I saw this article going around the inter webs.

Happy Halloween and Happy Holidays Neighbor!

You are probably wondering why your child has this note; have you ever heard the saying, ‘It takes a village to raise a child’? I am disappointed in ‘the village’ of Fargo Moorhead, West Fargo.

You [sic] child is, in my opinion, moderately obese and should not be consuming sugar and treats to the extent of some children this Halloween season.

My hope is that you will step up and parent and ration candy this Halloween and not allow your child to continue these unhealthy eating habits.

Thank You

Was this bitch for real? I mean, let’s overlook the fact that girls, these days, already have it rough enough. Between social media and the real world, I cry for what’s to come for my daughter. Now I have to worry about how I’m going to explain the asshole woman who is handing out notes because she thinks it’s her right to tell a child that she deems them overweight? And that she’s singling them out, as only a true asshole would do, and not give them candy because SHE thinks they don’t need it?

Mama Bear will come the f**k out and roar.

The Mom Wars are ugly and this makes it even uglier.

*The Breast Feeding vs Formula Feeding Battle.

*The Front Facing vs Extended Rear Facing Battle.

*The Breast Feeding in Public vs in Private Battle.

*Cry-It-Out vs Cuddle until Asleep Battle.

These are just a few of the battles that people engage in. WOMEN engage in. Against other women. It’s disgusting. As if battling one another wasn’t terrible enough, we have a new opponent.

I rarely comment on people’s parenting out loud. I mean, I’ve said my piece to the ghetto bitch who was dragging her child through the store by his arm. Or to the mother who slapped her child so hard, I heard it from a different aisle in the grocery store. But for the most part, I keep my comments contains in my head (or to E, if he’s with me). I have never, in my life, thought to ever walk up to a woman and tell her “you’re doing it wrong”. For serious. Why do people feel that this is acceptable behavior? Why do people feel it’s completely ok to just strike up a conversation with a stranger and manage to find a way to work it that you feel, as someone who knows everything about them in the 5 mins you’ve known them, it’s ok to tell them how to “correct” their parenting. It’s not anyone’s job to “educate” anyone else. Now, if someone asks for your opinion, rant on, my friend. Rant the hell on.

YOU don’t know what’s best for MY child so please, for your safety and my freedom, please refrain from speaking your piece on my parenting. The happy, little 2 yr old with the blond curls and the polite manners says, to me, that something is obviously being done correctly and that I don’t need you to step in and tell me your opinions.

*Note: to add to this: if you don’t have kids, have never birthed a child, adopted a child, had custody of a child, please, for the love of all that is Holy, do not think it’s a-ok to state an opinion about child-rearing or childbirth. Trust me. I used to know everything about children until I had one.

I mean, I'm raising a Mini Ravens Fan. Obviously I'm doing it right

I mean, I’m raising a Mini Ravens Fan. Obviously I’m doing it right

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Oh my! I missed that Halloween note! I was reading this post and I was enraged with you! People/women like to get into your business for sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

