NaBloPoMo – Nov 6th

Day 6: If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Simple. WILLPOWER.

I have the attention span of a gnat. I’m completely serious when I say I have ADHD coupled with ADD. I was on Ritalin for most of my childhood (of course when you have family that diagnoses every damn thing, you’re bound to have something wrong with you…). I have zero willpower. You bring cookies into the house, I’ll eat them. And be sad when they’re gone. I wanted to train for the Half Marathon. I trained until I got bored. I still ran it and finished it within my goal but the training along the way – BORING.

I never had a role model of someone who finished what they started. Up until this Half Marathon, I didn’t finish what I started. I could rant for days about Mommy and Daddy issues and whose fault it really is but, in reality, it’s *MY* job to finish what I want. And I want the willpower to do that.

This past January, I made a commitment to lose weight. Well shit, everyone promises that. That’s the #1 New Year’s Resolution. And as of Feb 15, all the “resolutionists” (as I call them) have left the gym, not to return until the next January. Then I decided, I didn’t want to make a year long resolution. I wanted to make monthly resolutions. But I stopped. Although I can’t blame that on willpower, that was because my February resolution consumed me.

I started running. I said “for the next 8 weeks, I’m going to complete the Couch To 5K program” and I did so on the treadmill. It took a little longer than 8 weeks because I took some time off but then I decided, I want to run an official 5K. So I did (Mariner’s Mother’s Day 5K). And it took off from there.

Now I want the willpower to continue to lose weight and continue to be motivated to run. I want to start setting new records for myself. I want my daughter to grow up, seeing someone who finishes what they start. And I WILL make sure that happens.

Right after I eat some oreos.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I hear you with the cookies — it’s a problem 😉 But way to push through and finish what you start!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

