NaBloPoMo – Nov 7th

Day 7: If you had to switch your first name, what name would you choose and why?

Hmm. That’s a tough one.

Growing up, I was very tan. Like Mexican or Puerto Rican. I was brown. My tan lines were epic. Everyone thought I was Hispanic. I grew fond of the name Pillar. I’m not sure why. Probably because I heard it on an episode of Passions and it just stuck. Another was Erin. I like a good, old fashion’ed Irish name. However, I can’t use that anymore because I’m now getting a niece named Erin. It’s a good thing I like that name. This post brings me back to the angst that E and I had while trying to name Beanie. We thought of:

Avery

Sophie/Sophia

Aubree (that was veto’ed real quick because K would have ripped my heart out)

Reese

None of these seemed to fit the bill. Naming someone is hard work. I know a couple going through the naming process now and it’s a pain in the ass. You want something that can be professional, should they become a judge. I mean, really. How many judges/lawyers do you know with the name Iyzik (Issac), Ryli (Riley/Ryleigh), Mowgli (The Jungle Book) and lets not get started on the erroneous apostrophes and dashs. Like the urban legend of La-a, pronounced Ladasha.

You’ve got to be kidding me.

But in all actuality, I like my name. It’s just different enough to be a pain in the ass but normal enough that people don’t want to smack my mother. I do curse her, on the regular, for forgetting the U but I guess she wanted an Irish girl to have a Russian name.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lara, as in Lay-rah right? Hee hee! I like my name too, though it took me a while to get to that point. Just read my post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

