NaBloPoMo – Nov 19th

Day 19: How much of the day are you plugged in? Do you consciously set aside offline time, or does it happen whenever it happens?

wwwwhhhhhooooooaaaaaaaa boy – Too. Freakin. Much.

I mean, I use a computer for my job, it requires it, but spending time “connected” during my off hours? Yea, I spend entirely too much time “connected”.

Don’t get me wrong. Social media doesn’t run my life. Sure, I love me some Instagram and I’m a member of a couple of FB groups but if someone robs my house, I’m not getting on FB before I call the police. (you laugh, I know some people who do that! FB has had to make the decision of whether they go to the ER or not. I’m being dead freakin serious). I use Facebook and Instagram as my entertainment, not my moral compass.

One of my resolutions of 2013, during Lent as a matter of fact, was to disconnect completely. I didn’t deactivate my account or anything but I took the app off my phone and, since, up until this month, I was rarely on the computer, it made it easy. Funny enough, I didn’t miss it. I didn’t miss the drama and the bullshit. The crazy people with their platforms that they use FB as their soapbox to preach. It was sort of refreshing. I have a feeling I’ll be doing that again during Lent of 2014. I’m not religious but I figure, everyone else gives something up so I can to.

It was nice to concentrate on my family and my school work and to read real books. I ended up blowing through about 14 books on my Nook during Lent. It also helped keep the itinerary down when we left to Baltimore. Because I didn’t post on FB that we’d be there, I didn’t end up with 368369346 invitations and we didn’t spend our entire vacation wishing we were home in Maine. It was the first time we didn’t need a vacation to recover from our vacation. That was nice.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

