Saying Goodbye

I’ve had to say good-bye more times than I may have like, but everyone can say that. And no matter how many times we have to do it – even if it’s for the greater good, it still stings. And although we will never forget what we’ve given up, we owe it to ourselves to keep moving forward. What we can’t do is live our lives afraid of the next good-bye because chances are they are not going to stop. The trick is to recognize when a good-bye can be a good thing – when it’s a chance to start again

This seemed to be the theme of my Thanksgiving.

My parents and IL’s ascended upon our home in Maine, after a horrid drive up from Maryland. I think it took them about 15 hours because the East Coast had a storm from VA to ME. Gross. It was a good time though. Beanie loved having her grandparents around and, of course, they spoiled her rotten. I’m already working on undoing all of the spoiling. Least favorite parental task ever.

Thanksgiving was a good day. The women-folk cooked while the men folk entertained Beanie. I don’t have any pics of the feast because, lets face it, we all eat the same crap. We know what it looks like and, unless you’re in a food competition, it’s not really fun to look at food.

The highlight of the day, though:

A Big Win!

A Big Win!

And despite Mike Tomlin and his devilish ways, we still came out on top. I really wish our defense would figure their nonsense out. I mean, we’re one of the top rated red zone defenses yet we consistenly flub at the end. But this was a good turning point for us. We’re in contention for a Wild Card spot and here’s hoping we can keep Purple Friday going through December and into the new year!

MIL and I walked the Turkey Trot on Black Friday. It wasn’t terrible for her first 5K. I took the stroller with Beanie. Beanie wasn’t impressed but to her defense, it was wicked cold out. 57 mins to walk it. I’m proud of MIL for this accomplishment. We definitely attempted to burn off some of the cals we took in on Thanksgiving LOL

My parents and I took Beanie to see Santa being brought in via CG boat. Our Station brings Santa into Rockland Harbor to visit, every year, and this year was no different. It attracts a pretty decent crowd and the community loves us for it.

(I have movies of both but go figure, my computer is being stupid.)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Another thing I had to say good bye too: My MFP streak.

434 days of tracking my food/caloric intake and exercise and I forgot to log in yesterday.

I FORGOT!

For 434 days, it was a way of life. I logged almost everything. But yesterday. Yesterday didn’t happen. To be completely honest, I was bummed this morning. But I’m looking at this as a new start. I’ve been slacking since I busted my ankle up before Halloween. I haven’t been working out, I’ve been slacking on the food logging, and my weight has be bouncing back and forth with the same 2 lbs. 2 lbs isn’t terrible but it’s the 2 lbs that is on the cusp of two weight classes. That’s what’s got me irritated. So I figure, fresh start, time to bring it and get these next 10 lbs off. Weigh ins for work are coming up mid/end of next month and I told myself, I won’t have to be taped this time. I want to get on the scale, show my peeps that I made the standard via weight, and move on with my life.

I also got an app that will have me working on speed work. It’ll have to be on the treadmill because we’re in our winter season. I love running outdoors but the thought of potentially running over ice has me less than thrilled. On super dry, sunny days, I’ll get a run in outdoors but for this new app (Running for Weight Loss PRO: Trainer. On special today for $3.99 which I think is a great deal considering most are $5.99 and up) I’ll be on the dreadmill.

I’m ready to face 2014 head on and move on.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

