Cheesy Stuffed Meatballs

We have a regular rotation of dinners and it seems to get a touch boring after a while. I’m always on the look out for new recipes that sound great and aren’t too terribly labor intensive to make.

I decided, for Feb, I wanted to do a various of “Julie & Julia”. Please don’t think I have any grand ideas of getting out Julia Childs’ cookbook and making Beef Wellington on a school night. But I would like to challenge myself to make 28 different dinners, not only to give my family some change, but also to enhance some cooking skills.

Allrecipes.com is one of my favorite go-to’s but I also see how people “share” a million and one recipes all over the facebook. You know the “share this on your wall so you can refer back!” posts. Yea. My mother is guilty of those but I can’t lie, I’ve tried a couple that she has posted.

Last night was Betty Crocker’s Cheese Stuffed Meatballs.

Now, I attempt to tweak recipes whenever I can to lessen the calories and make it a touch healthier. MFP has this recipe labeled as 850 cals per serving. I don’t know about you but that’s a LOT for one dinner so I needed to figre this out.

Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

I used:

4 Sticks of Polly-O Mozzerella String Cheese (freeze for about an hour before using), cut into enough chunks for the number of meatballs you have

1 lb 80/20 ground beef (I find the less fat, the drier the meat and I don’t enjoy dried out ground beef)

1/2 C Parmesan Bread Crumbs

1T Minced Onion (I prefer the taste of the dried minced onion when I don’t have a fresh onion in the house)

2t Garlic Powder

1 whole egg

I mixed all ingredients together in  a bowl and made sure to distribute the dry ingredients.

meatballs 2

Out of the pound of meat, I was able to get 11 meatballs, each weighing 1.6 oz.

meatballs 3Take the cheese and stuff it into the meatball. You might need to cut more off the chunk to make it fit properly

meatballs 4Seal the meatballs around the cheese, as best you can. This definitely kicked my ass.

meatballs 5Bake at 350* for 10 mins and check them. I checked them at 10 mins and they needed a littler longer, in my opinion. I learned the hard way — next time I will be baking these on a rack with a drip pan underneath. I also learned that I need to work on sealing my balls (pause for *snickers*) because the cheese was oozing out.

meatballs 6

Case in point — oozy cheese.

Overall Family Opinion: “they’re good”. I agree with E, they were a little bland so I definitely need to beef up the seasonings within the actual meatball. I also think sealing them better and then putting the balls into the sauce would be helpful too. This will be put into the rotation and eaten again. It definitely didn’t take forever to make so it’s convenient for a weeknight meal.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

