Mother’s Day 5K

Last mother’s day I ran my very first 5K. It was the Mariner’s Mother’s Day 5K that benefitted the local high school’s booster club. I started the Couch to 5K journey in Feb of 2013 and I decided the Mother’s Day 5K would be my goal.

Mother's Day 5K 2013

Mother’s Day 5K 2013

I ran my ass off. I made it halfway before having to walk up this massive hill, which was discouraging but I made it. I finished in under 40 mins which was my goal but it was one of those “if I can’t do it in under 40 mins, maybe I shouldn’t be doing it at all” which are a little more discouraging but I finished. From here, the running bug had bit me.

This past Mother’s Day, I made it a point to run again because it marked a year since starting my running journey. this year when a lot better than last year 🙂

Mother's Day 5K 2014

Mother’s Day 5K 2014

Mother's Day 5K_2

The organizers rerouted the course to avoid the massive hill from last year, except they had the walkers start ahead of the runners. Now, I’m not positive why this happened but it didn’t work out fantastically because the runners caught up with the walkers and, in addition to being corraled through  a muddy alley way behind the school, we were dodging and weaving.

I was able to run a good distance but I’ve been battling this knee/back/butt muscle issue that causes my leg to throb. That slowed me down a bit and I actually had to walk for a 1/10th of a mile. I still managed to PR though, which made me insanely excited. Official records had me as 34:04. I’ll take it!

This year, I was lucky enough to run with some awesome ladies.

Me and C Mother's Day 5K <– C has been motivating me to get my rear end moving and to continue running.

There were also some ladies from my station, as well as the wife of one of the guys that decided to run   –>

 

 

 

And of course, it wouldn’t be me without something happening to make me laugh:

Go Figure!

Go Figure!

I knew I tanned easily but this was literally 30 mins in the sun and now I have a reminder of my knee brace. Fantastc.

Next up — the big move to Maryland and the Baltimore Women’s Classic

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

rachelkern152

Our Running Journey

Torrey Smith's Off-Season Blog Full Of Random Thoughts

Wide Receiver for the Baltimore Ravens...Bored Blog Rookie

Diaries of MIM

Somewhere between know it all and could care less there's me. Right In the middle

Simply D Constructed

A fine WordPress.com site

frtzkrn

Everything plus the kitchen sink!

The Accidental Olympian

A fine WordPress.com site

coleinourstocking

Just another WordPress.com site

Curvy Girl Guide

Real Women, Real Stories, Real Life

Foul Mouthed Hooligans

Stories so good, you'll need to wash your mouth out with soap.

berra's beach house

life's a beach, no matter where you are.

one curly fry in a box of the regular

pastry arts, culinary adventures, and just living the dream through food & wine

Get A Grip

Streamline. Organize. Simplify.

